Hawaii (state), is only island state and the southernmost state in the United States. Hawaii consists of the Hawaiian Islands located near the center of the northern Pacific Ocean. The state is composed of eight main islands [which are from east to west Hawaii, Maui, Kahoolawe, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu, Kauai, and Niihau] and 124 islets, reefs, and shoals. Honolulu is the capital and largest city of Hawaii. Hawaii was officially nicknamed the Aloha State after becoming the 50th state of the United States and is a land area almost wholly of volcanic origin. However, some small areas above sea level consist of limestone derived from ancient coral reefs. These reefs were formed when the sea level was higher than it is now. The varied scenery in Hawaii also includes mountains rising to more than 13,000 feet above sea level; vast stretches of desolate lava beds; white sand beaches edged with palm trees; towering cliffs and brilliantly colored canyons; thick rain forests and arid thorny scrublands; and a dappled patchwork of field and forest. In addition to the still active volcanoes of Hawaii[including one on the island of Maui, three on the island of Hawaii, and a recently discovered submarine volcano, Loihi, about 35 km (about 20 mi) southeast of the island of Hawaii], there are cascading rainbows of waterfalls and the most amazing beaches in the world for any water sport that you could imagine. The accommodations range from simple to lavish and the beauty of Hawaii is beyond compare.